:NAVIGATION:
Current
Archive

:EXTRAS:
Profile
Email

hosted by DiaryLand.com

Rap Star__________
Saturday, Jul. 23, 2005 at 9:36 am

Rap Star__________

Saturday, Jul. 23, 2005 - 9:36 am

One more thing, I almost forgot about, but don't want to forget about when I read this 15 years from now:

Matt is a rapper. And he's good. While he was on the treadmill in the morning, I was standing next time, tossing a ball around, and we started talking. (By the way... he was wearing an awesome A's jersey and matching hat... I almost needed to carry a tissue around to stop the drool! And Fernando came in looking all fine in his Gap-wear. He had a pair of khaki cargo shorts, a stripped Polo shirt and a matching hat! YUM!!! Ok, remember to breathe.)

Back to our regularly scheduled memory:

Matt started telling me that rapping is what he wants to do. And he did a little demo for me. He's good. He said he would bring me a copy of his CD on Tuesday at aftercare. I just hope he remembers. I can have him sign it, and say "I knew him when..." after he becomes famous.

*sigh*

The Final Curtain__________

Saturday, Jul. 23, 2005 - 9:23 am

Drama.

Yesterday was the last day of Session VI of East Bay Functional Restoration. For so many reasons, which I will not name, I didn't feel like doing anything. And I pretty much didn't do anything. I got done what needed to be done, but spent pretty much the entire time out with the group, goofing off, and messing around with them all.

The boys. I got my picture. Both of them individually, and then one of them together. Yay! Bernice was, for some reason, very eager to get me to take pictures with them. And she took lots of pictures. So she said she'd let me borrow the negatives when she gets them developed. I can't wait. She took a lot of group pictures that I didn't get a chance to take.

The place looked nice and festive. Bernice brought some balloons that were scattered throughout the gym area, and there was a graduation ceremony and everything. Dr. Rome inadvertedly said something to me in front of everyone that made me feel so good. He's never made me feel that welcome before.

Bernice wanted a group picture of everyone, and she wanted to take the picture, so I told her I'd take it so she could be in the picture. Robin then suggested that maybe Iris' son could take the picture. When I declined, Dr. Rome said "Juanita, you're part of this group too. Let him take the picture." And I was just awed that he would say something like that. He's never taken a liking to me, that much I know. But I appreciate him saying that, and in front of everyone in the room.

Towards the end, Fernando and I hugged. I will see him again. But he won't be here for the first two weeks of aftercare (which run every Tuesday for the first 4 weeks, then every other Tuesday) because he'll be in Costa Rica visiting his father. But Matt I will see again on Tuesday.

I very much enjoyed this group. Charles is one of the ones who made is very special. He's an older gentlman who was a PT patient prior to doing the group. And it was nice to watch him progress so much, physically, and otherwise throughout the course of the session. He walks so much better than he used to. And he opened up to all these people. They all bonded, and it's great to see.

Most people standing on the outside of this group, I'm sure, would tend to see it solely as a way of making money for the doctors. But these people, although somewhat reluctant to come at the beginning, leave with different attitudes, smiles on their faces, and the will to live their lives again. But best of all, they leave with friendships that I'd like to think will last forever.

God Bless them all.

P.S.
Part of the reason I have been so reluctant to work as much lately is because I found out that Cindy and Monica both recieved raises. I didn't get anything. So if I'm not getting rewarded for the extra work I do, the effort I put into the job won't be so much. I'm not going to break myself emotionally for a job that doesn't care what kind of working. And I'm not talking about the people direcly above me, managerially. I'm talking about the bitch monster, who is solely responsible for raises.

Disappointed__________

Wednesday, Jul. 20, 2005 - 9:00 pm

I was a little disappointed that Fernando wasn't in class today. This is the last full day, but he had some test to take that was rescheduled, so there was no way for him to come.

I did get to talk to Matt a lot. When he first came in, I was at my desk, and he handed me a large printed picture of his black Caprice (the car I LOVE), which I thought was really sweet. Made me all giddy to thank that he had thought of me at all while he wasn't around me. Hello to the melty heart.

We got a chance to talk quite a bit throughout the day, mostly about baseball, and yeah. Hello baseball and cute guys? All at once? Happy girl here.

Friday I will suck it up and try and get a picture taken of me with both of them. Preferably one at a time, but together is good, too. I'd love to be the meat in that sandwich. Any day.

Picnic in the Park... yesterday__________

Saturday, Jul. 16, 2005 - 7:41 pm

For their cooking day, since the weather was so nice, the group opted to do a picnic in the park instead of staying in and cooking. So that's what we did. And it was fun. Nice weather, up until the very end when a nearby fire had the park engulfed in a smokey haze. That was our cue to head back.

All morning Matt had been raving about my cousin Ricardo's 63 Impala. I had a picture of it that I took when he had brought it to our house, and took it in to show Matt. I knew he'd like it. And I was right.

I really am going to miss this group. I have only one week left with them. I wish it would have started to get this fun from the get-go. I would have had 8 glorious weeks. Oh well.

Boys & Their Cars__________

Monday, Jul. 11, 2005 - 10:30 pm

So very giddy!

Once again, everything to do with the youngins. Giggles, hello's, head-feeling, stories of how their relationship is falling apart, smiles. Woohoo!

Matt sent me an email with pictures of his cars, which are awesome! So jealous. I have to take pictures of my cousin's cars before this group ends so I can share them with him. While we talked, he started telling me about the fact that he and his girlfriend weren't speaking. Seems she's being a little insensitive to the things he's been going through lately. But I tried to justify that maybe she has a lot going on that he doesn't know about. Don't know why I'm making excuses.

And Fernando. Well, there was just a little pointless chatter. I find any excuse to be out there with the EBFR patients, just to be near him. We talked, and he joked, and I laughed. And I was happy. Happy at work? Who would have thought?

And I'm all excited about Friday, because I'm taking my lunch early to go on a picnic with the group. Lynn invited me, and who am I to say no to an opportunity to hang with those two boys. Yeah, hello! I'm not stupid. Ok, maybe I am a little stupid.

Kinda bummed, though, that Fernando keeps mentioning that he is planning on moving to Puerto Rico. That's just so far away. So very far away.

previous - next